Mesa Grill NYC

I am lucky enough to live 20 minutes outside of New York City and I am there all the time. I have a great passion for the shopping, the culture and, of course, the amazing culinary scene. I have tried everything there is to offer at least once (unless it has goat cheese, it’s the only cheese I don’t like). Last Saturday I got the pleasure of dining at Bobby Flay’s Mesa Grill as a treat for my 23rd birthday. I am a huge Bobby Flay fan so this was a very special meal for me.

The place was incredible. High ceilings, dark lighting and a great buzzing atmosphere.

There were 16 of us so bear with me, there was a lot of food.

Drink:

Mesa Grill Margarita: Not too sweet and perfectly tart.

Bread:
To start they brought out a bread basket with, not only, great warm rolls, but these amazing jalapeno corn muffins and thyme rolls. All served with butter. Really, how could you go wrong?

Appetizers:

Rough Cut Tuna Nachos – This dish was amazing. The tuna was lightly seared and served with a great avocado cream and homemade tortilla chips.
Blue Corn Pancake – This was like a pancake wrap with marinated duck in the middle (my first experience with duck). Love it!
Cremini Mushroom Quesadilla – My favorite app. There was a fried egg on top. YUM!
Goat Cheese “Queso Fundido” – I will admit, this was the one app I didn’t eat. I don’t like goat cheese.
Baby Romaine Salad – A very nice refreshing salad to go along with some heavy guilt ridden appetizers.

Entrée:
The portion sizes were on the smaller side, just the way I like them. If you are looking for a big entrée, go elsewhere.

I ordered the Cornmeal Crusted Chile Relleno (pictured below) and in my opinion, it was the best dish of the night. I shared with my mom who ordered the Mango & Spice Crusted Tuna Steak  which was also fabulous. I tried a little of a bunch of other entrees as well, including New Mexican Spice Rubbed Pork Tenderloin and the Ancho Chile-Honey Glazed Salmon.

Dessert:

Chocolate Pretzel Tart: This was far and beyond the best dessert of the night. It came with a peanut butter ice cream that had this really great spicy kick to it.
Apple Pie Sundae: This wasn’t my favorite. I usually LOVE an apple dessert but something about the nutmeg ice cream didn’t work for me.
Toasted Coconut Layer Cake: Dee-lish! They brought this one out with a candle on top and sang me Happy Birthday :). It was about 7 layers high and so good!
Sticky Toffee Pudding: Another one that I didn’t love. It was good but not great.

Overall, the meal was amazing! It certainly wasn’t cheep but worth the price. If you are ever in NYC check it out. He also has a Mesa Grill location in Caesar’s Palace in Las Vegas.

Gimme some sugar...

